Church History

A Brief History of Vestavia Hills United Methodist Church

In the early Fall of 1950, Dr. J.H. Chitwood, District Superintendent, met with Rev. R.C. Wilson (a retired Methodist minister), Mr. T.M. Burgin (a prominent member of the community), and Mr. C.R. Byrd (the developer of the Vestavia Hills Community), to discuss the formation of a Methodist Church in Vestavia Hills.

On October 19th, 1952 the first worship service was held with Rev. Tommy Ogletree serving as the congregations first pastor.  (The city of Vestavia Hills was also formed in 1952.)  In June, 1953, the ground was broken for the first Church building.  The building would include a sanctuary, recreation room, kitchen, choir loft, office, and Sunday school rooms.  (This is the present day Chapel.)

The congregation continued to grow, and in November, 1958, an activities building was completed which included a large gymnasium, a stage, kitchen, and additional classrooms for youth.

The congregation continued to grow, and in September of 1964 the cornerstone was laid for our current sanctuary.  The first worship service was held in the sanctuary on May 2, 1965.

The congregation continued to grow, and over the years we added the children’s building, Tyson Hall, additional Sunday school classrooms, and a recreation building that includes a gymnasium, fitness center, classrooms and dance studios.   As the congregation continues to grow, and needs continue to change, we are constantly updating and remodeling spaces to allow the ministries of the church to continue to impact the lives of the people in our church and in our community.

From 1952 to present there have been twelve Senior Ministers of Vestavia Hills United Methodist Church:

  • Rev. Dr. Thomas W. Ogletree, 1952-1955
  • Rev. William E. Curl, 1955-1959
  • Rev. John C. Calhoun, 1959-1960
  • Rev. Dr. Lorenzo Dow Tyson, 1960-1966
  • Rev. Woodfin Grove, 1966-1970
  • Rev. Dr. William C. Davis, 1970-1974
  • Rev. Dr. Robert C. Morgan, 1974-1984 (Elected Bishop in 1984. Served as the Bishop of the Mississippi Conference from 1984-1992, and the Kentucky Conference from 1992-2000)
  • Rev. Dr. S. Joe Elmore, Sr., 1984-1994
  • Rev. Dr. T. Michael Morgan, 1994-2003
  • Rev. Dr. Michael Stewart, 2003-2006
  • Rev. Dalton Styles, 2006-2012
  • Rev. Dr. William B. Brunson, 2012-present